Scandinavian adventures – in the kitchen

120422 Daimtorta4

Spring is here and it’s unstoppable.

I don’t know how everyone else is doing this, but for me it is only recently since I reorganize my wardrobe each season. This not only made me appreciate my pieces more but it also made me greet my dresses as if they were new each time I unpacked them. Reorganizing also allowed me to free up some (tiny) space in my wardrobe each time when I sadly say goodbye to those not-fitting-right-now-but-will-be-OK-soon-then-it-never-happens pieces. There are several options for the clothes afterwards: give it around family, (I used to get all my clothes from older cousins and I was always eager to get the new package each season), give it away for charity and for a couple years now we implemented one more step for us girlfriends: Clothes swapping. Everyone brings their unwanted clothes and we them around. It has been a great success each year, we all laugh, chat, eat cake and have fun. Real girly program at the beginning of the season.

So, yesterday we had a clothes swapping with girls, we chatted, ate cake and tried on clothes. Don’t worry, I haven’t turned into a fashionblogger and will not present you the trends of street style. It is just my usual long-winded way of telling you that one of the girls having grown up in Sweden brought some Swedish chocolate for us. Of course we jumped on it and had some. While the girls also tasted the leftover slated caramel filling from last week’s cake, we started thinking of the great Daim candy and cake you can probably only get in IKEA here.

As we talked on and swapped more, I couldn’t get that Daim out of my head, so by the time I got home from my Sunday run, I was inspired to make my own Daim-inspired cake.

This is what I did:

200 grams of ground almonds

130 grams of butter

50 grams of sugar

1 egg yolk

I mixed the ingredients. Took a baking sheet with paper and a cake ring. Pressed the dough inside the ring and baked it for 25 minutes. At that point you should stop and let it cool (which I did not do this time and should have).

In the meantime, I took the whole hazelnuts from the chocolate and added them to the small bowl of leftover caramel. I spread the caramel on the cake and put it in the fridge to set.

I melted the chocolate and then poured it on top of the caramel.

In the afternoon I’m gonna go and see my little Muffin Kids dancing at a tournament. I hope they’ll like the surprise cake.

Leave a Reply

