Chocolate Dipped Coconut Macaroons on Macaron Day

120319 coconut macaroon6

So, here we are. The day has arrived. Spring is here, it is Macaron Day and Exam day. For stress relieving and kitchen pantry decluttering purposes (as I have realized that my pantry is far better supplied than a bomb shelter…) I decided to make coconut macaroons. It’s close enough to macarons, so I just go with it and I’m good for the Macaron day too.

The cookie is real simple (that is where I also adapted the recipe from) and you won’t need much for it. Here comes my step by step commentary on it.

The recipe had been sitting in my to bake folder for months now so finally I can check that out too.

Ingredients:

  • 400 grams (14 ounce) sweetened shredded coconut (about 5 cups) – mine is not sweetened but I guess it was for the better
  • 4 large egg whites (I have plenty of egg whites at home now so I used 140 grams, though officially it is just 120 gram)
  • 2/3 cup of sugar (I want to measure these for next time weightwise)
  • 1/3 cup of all-purpose flour (will measure this too)
  • 1/4 teaspoon kosher salt – I still haven’t found this at home so I just used simple salt
  • 2 teaspoon pure vanilla extract – I used a hint of pure vanilla instead
  • the recipe calls for 6 ounces (170 gram) of semi-sweet or bittersweet chocolate but I added some more to make it 7 ounces (200 gram) – it can’t hurt to have more chocolate, can it?

First I mixed the dry ingredients then added the egg whites. I wanted to be a real lady and use my spatula there but the batter just wouldn’t stick together so (and I hope this stays between you and me) I dug in with my hands. Well, that did it.

You can place the little coconut humps on the paper covered baking sheet but I used my hands again – otherwise it would have fallen apart. Maybe next time I’ll put more egg whites in them.

The recipe says it makes 32 macaroons but I managed to make 50 and they were not small I can assure you.

You have to bake them in a preheated (325 F – 160 Celsius) oven for 25-30 minutes. Steam free. Which meant slightly open 170 Celsius oven for me. But you know me – I always advise you to befriend your own oven to know the boogie.

It should look somewhat like this before the last (and best) step. Of course if I hadn’t gone for lunch to my grandma’s for 40 minutes they might have turned out less golden (and less dry) but I managed to stay on the good side yet. When ready, cool it on the baking sheet for a couple of minutes than cool them completely on a cooling rack. Then dip the bottoms in melted chocolate and place them back on the parchment paper. It’s still not that hot around here so I didn’t put them in the fridge but that can also speed up the process for the chocolate.

I should say they turned out quite well. Next time I’ll time my lunch differently though, but my Mom gave me the best reassurance about these last night. For figure preserving purposes she hardly eats cookies and yet she came over last night to chat a bit and after the fifth piece she demanded that I put them away. O-Key…

Do you have any Macaron Day plans? If nothing else and you have two free fingers, cross them for me please.

Leave a Reply

