Ginger-Banana infused AHA moment

111129 Ginger Banana Walnut Muffin5

I’ve been thinking a lot lately (cause that’s another thing I like doing sometimes). About where and what to do; why and does it even make sense to study to become a pastry chef (if pretty much very third person  know has another one-two-three friends studying to be one and that’s pretty scary)? And if it makes sense at all, then how? Beyond all these questions and doubts and arguments I feel a strange and ever so stretching bond between myself and the kitchen. I have a special connection with pans, bowls, batters, the hot oven and the mysterious process when the raw dough turns into a wonderful mouth watering cake.

This is the time I am most in form and it can only be topped when sharing it with others. I am so excited to see the sparkle in the eyes of the testers, the curiosity on their face when seeing a strange cake and the joy in their voice when biting that first bite to mingle with their tastebuds.

I am so far away from creating my own recipes or to work for a fancy restaurant to make their pretty desserts, not to mention the master chefs whose sugar and candy sculptures are breathtaking. There is still some tiny little voice inside me telling me to go on, follow the path wherever it takes me  because the adventurous journes is worth the road.

More and more of my classmates are experimenting with their recipes, their ideas and to be honest I am a bit jealous of their brilliance and beacuse they are fantastic and I am still mixing homey cakes and cookies. For now.

Yet, I still came home last night and I wanted to create. I wanted to come up with something of my own, or at least bake something I have never baked this way or baked at all. This is how the ginger-banana-walnut muffin was born.

The idea was to make a filled muffin and since I already had bananas at home, I figured I could make that bananan cream I keep seeing in so many American recipes. From previous experience I knew walnut would go well, and I was imagining ginger would as well. I put chocolate on top to make the topcuts disappear and so they wouldn’t “spill” when being transported. I think they turned out cute.

My next confession would be that I actually googled a recipe to adapt since even my text book suggests using 1000 grams of muffin powder nd I do not like that. I chose a simple and decent one and then went on experimenting…

Like this:

The batter (12-16 pieces)

1 1/1 cups (150 gram ) flour

1/2 cup (50 gram) cocoa

1 1/2 cups (300 gram) sugar
2 tesaoons of baking soda

2 teaspoons of baking powder

1/4 teaspoons of salt

2 tk ground gingerbread  –  it was much easier than grinding some of my own…

50 gram of ground walnut -there is no dominant flavour in the cake but it still ads structure while made it cut.

 

The filling

300 ml milk

1 egg

2 tbs oil

1 tk vanilla

Preheat the oven to about 180-200 and place add the oil, bzrtmuffin papercups in the baking tin. Mix dry ingredients, then mix eggs, milk, sugar  and vanilla. Add the egg mixture to the dry ingredients. Fill cups just until their 3/4 rim and bake it for about 25-30 minutes.

In the meantime, make the cream. There  is NO RULES! I peeled two bananas, sliced them, added 250 ml heavy cream, 1 tablespoon of cornstarch and two teaspoons of ginger. So when it is smooth, I heat it until the last bit is boiling too.  Melt 200  grams of 200 grams of chocolate.

When the muffins were baked, I left them in the pan for a couple of minutes and then cooled them on the cooling rack for about 15 minutes. For the filling, you need to take out the middle fo the muffin. Put the cream in the muffin, 1 or 1 1/2 teaspoon in each, put the lid back on top.

Even without having tasted the cake I had a heartwarming experience. And even after tasting it turns out they are not that bad. I would have out less ginger in the cream while my colleagues wanted more ginger in there Christmas menu.

If you are up for this or any other experiments, write me back and let me know how it all turned out.

 

Happy Experimenting!

Leave a Reply

