Live Life Like There’s No Tomorrow…

Peanut butter pie for Mikey

I walked home from work on Friday afternoon, had an ice cream and talked to one of my best friends’ on the way home…It was a lovely walk. Before going to bed I saw a shooting star and made a wish and it made me realize how little  things can bring joy to life if we appreciate them.

Then on Saturday morning I turned my computer on and in my blogfeed I read a post about Jennie and her husband, and how he had passed away in a sudden heart attack a week before and it made me realize how fragile we all are and how life can change in a single moment… I can’t imagine her pain, my deepest condolences go out to her and her family. I hope she and her little girls as well others out there going through a hard time in their life at the moment will have the strength to go on.

Many of the bloggers I have been reading posted their peanut butter pie they made for remembering Mikey over the weekend. And although I do not know Jennie, her post about her beloved husband and how we should live ” like there’s no tomorrow because today is the only guarantee we can count on” gave me the sudden urge to make my version of the pie and share it with the ones I love.

Preparing the peanut butter pie for Mikey

I adapted Jennie’s recipe but since I did not have all the ingredients she listed at home I came up with a little bit altered version of mine.

I used:

130 grams of cookie crumbs

20 grams of cocoa powder

50 grams of brazil nuts

120 grams of margarin (would have used butter if I had had enough)

100 grams of 86% chocolate

250 grams of mascarpone cream

250 grams of peanut butter

150 grams of confectionar’s sugar

vanilla extract

I put the cocoa powder, the cookie crumbs and the nuts in the food processor, then added the melted margarine to the mixture. When thoroughly processed I laid the mixture in a pan, flattened it and put it in the fridge. I melted the chocolate over steam and poured it on to the cookie mix. While I was letting it cool in the fridge again I prepared the cream. I mixed the mascarpone and the peanut butter in a big bowl, added the confectionar’s sugar and a little vanilla extract to it. When the chocolate was firm in the pan, I put the cream on it as well and put the whole thing in the freezer for 30 minutes because I wanted to serve it right away. While it was cooling I invited my closest family to have a piece. To make it a bit prettier I prepared some caramelized confectionar’s sugar and chocolate shreds for the top.

Loving and sharing

This weekend I have realized how important it is to never let the moments pass by, to live our dreams and how we should find happiness in the little things we share with family and friends or how we should never refrain from saying ‘I love you’ because we can never know when the last dance is. I wish all my beloved ones were at arm’s  reach so they could all have a little piece but until I see them again I hope they know and feel the same…

A piece of my love

“Sing like no one’s listening, love like you’ve never been hurt, dance like nobody’s watching, and live like it’s heaven on earth.” – Mark Twain

Comments
One Response to “Live Life Like There’s No Tomorrow…”
  1. Andrea Cuervo says:

    So beautiful and inspiring!!!! I feel within your arm’s reach right now and I’m hugging you🙂

Leave a Reply

