Apple Pie of Fairy Tales

110508 Apple Pie2

I still believe in fairy tales.

I know it’s pretty childish but I think believing in fairy tales gives a little extra sparkle to get you through the every-day rush; makes you smile at the happy ending and reminds you of your magical childhood when all you believed in was fairy tales.

Do you remember those talent shows at school and summer camp finales when your class or group of friends performed something you liked, was funny or cool? Or at least that is what you thought of these performances and your parents loved it because you were on stage and you got your fifteen minutes of fame in the spotlight. I remember playing Little Red Riding Hood once at the finale of an English summer camp. The most memorable fairy tale performance though was when I got to play Snow White in our elementary school biennale with my English class. I had a very pretty blue dress from my grandma for the show. I think I actually liked the boy who played Prince Charming at that time (btw he is now my dentist) and I remember how the audience burst out laughing when I bit the apple and kept it in my mouth until my prince came…

Well, I don’t get to play Snow White anymore on stage but when I got loaded with apples the other day and decided to make an apple pie, I remembered the scene when Snow White made one for her little friends in the Disney movie.

The recipe I followed is again from Kristy from Cali. I hadn’t made this for years and I was very surprised again how easy and fast it is.

For the crust the recipe calls for shortening or lard. I used the opportunity to use some of the lard my dad gave me. I’m pretty sure it didn’t hurt.

Pie crust

I made a double crust pie, so for that you’ll need:

2 1/2 cups flour

1 teaspoon salt

2/3 cup shortening/lard

6-8 tablespoons water

If you only put crust in the bottom, take half of the crust ingredients.

Mix flour, salt and lard in a bowl. When they roll into little pieces. Sprinkle with one tablespoon of water and push the mix to the side of the bowl. Repeat until all the dough is moistened enough and then put it on lightly floured surface. Half the dough. Flatten it with a rolling pin and roll it until it reaches the size of the plate you want to put it in. Remember, the diameter has to be slightly bigger than the pan’s so you can have edges too.

Roll the pastry around a rolling pin and unroll it onto a pie plate. Be careful not to stretch or scratch tha pastry.

Then get six apples, wash them, peel them and cut them up. I like to cut them in nice shapes. First, because they look nice on the photo, second they feel nicer and may be easier to cut when baked (though latter is not proved). But you can just chop them if you are making a double crust pie. If needed, put some lemon juice on apples so they don’t get too brown. Place the apples in the pie.

Apples for the pie

Combine 1 cup sugar, 1 teaspoon of cinnamon, some nutmeg and whatever spice you fancy in a bowl. Sprinkle apples with the mix and put little butter dots on the filling.

Then you can adjust the top crust prepared and rolled the same way as the other half. Trim the edges and decorate with the leftover pastry as you like.

Decorating apple pie

Cover the pie with foil and bake in the oven for 25  minutes.  Remove foil and bake for another 25-30 minutes – depending on your oven. The crust has to be golden – then you know it’s ready.

Serve hot with vanilla ice cream or just cold whenever you’d like.

Good morning apple pie

I was so excited when it was ready that I made another one immediately. I know. I know. But I was feeling like Snow White again and couldn’t help it…

Do you believe in fairy tales?

Comments
One Response to “Apple Pie of Fairy Tales”
Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] – make a pie crust (the same I use for the apple pie) […]



Leave a Reply

