Ana Banana and Her Monkey Business

Banana bread

I have realized that when writing a cake blog or any kind of food blog I have to pay attention to the seasons. I cannot just bake weeks in a row, take pictures and then post recipes whenever. Cause who would find raspberry in February or pumpkin in May?…I’m pretty sure they are available but at what cost? Or in what condition?

Anyways, I have this recipe that I love making (I know I say that about every one of them…) and it involves bananas. Bananas are kind of always in season but since the beautiful red berries are coming soon and bananas are more of a winter fruit for me I have come to the conclusion that it is time to share the recipe with you.

I first had banana bread in the States at one of my host families but I googled the recipe afterwards and I feel really bad but I don’t know where it comes from. Anyways, it is a great way of getting rid of old bananas when you are tired of smoothies or just want something cakey.

Banana bread ingredients

You’ll need:

100 grams of butter/margarine

1/2 cup (120 ml) of sugar

1/2 cup (120 ml) of brown sugar

2 eggs

2 cups (480 ml) of flour

1/2 teaspoon of salt

1 teaspoon of baking soda

3 bananas

walnuts, chocolate…anything you’d like in it

It is one of the easiest recipes ever and it takes about 20 minutes to prepare it.

0. Preheat oven to 300 F (180°C)

1. Peel the bananas and mash them with a fork so they become mushy.You really need older bananas – the browner, the better.

Walnuts

2. Chop a handful (or two) of walnuts and a chocolate bar. I use semisweet or bitter chocolate but I bet it is good with any kind of chocolate.

Chocolate

3.  Beat the butter with both sugar, then add the eggs and beat together.

4. Mix the flour with the salt and the baking soda in a seperate bowl then add it slowly to the batter. Mix together.

5. Pour in the chocolate and walnuts. Mix.

6. Grease and flour a pan and pour in the batter. A couple years ago I got two great pots from my Dad that I usually use for the banana bread. They are perfect for making the crust crispy and the inside velvety.

Banana bread bowl

7. Put the pan/pot in the oven for about an hour and bake until ready. I usually stick a fork in the middle to check whether it’s good in the inside or not.

When ready, you can serve/eat it immediately or cover it with chocolate and then serve it/eat it. Or as you wish.

Perfect for breakfast or after lunch. Not too sweet and it is a great comfort food. More for the winter but I would eat it on some cool, rainy spring day as well. So use up the bananas in the kitchen and look forward to berries, currants and cherries…

Banana bread

180°C

Leave a Reply

