Larousse and Chef Bo – What Wannabe Pastry Chefs Read on Sick Days

Books to read

I hate being sick. Period. It means I did something wrong in the previous days,  for example matching the wrong clothes to the temperature outside. (Yeah, Mom, you were right!) Or I could have messed up something else, but it all comes down to one thing: you are sick. And  when you are sick, the best thing you could do in order to get better is to stay in bed and do the voodoo your grandmas have been telling you over the years.

So, I sucked it up and behaved myself  all weekend cause I wanted to get better as fast as possible.

I squeezed 3 oranges, 3 apples and tangerines and drank it all.  I drank a gallon of freshly brewed ginger tea with honey and drank forest fruit juice – supposed to be full of Vitamin C. To make sure I have enough Vitamin C I took multivitamin pills. I had 8 kiwis over the weekend along with a bag of cranberries and 6 cloves of garlic (I know, I must be very attractive now). I had warm chicken broth for lunch my grandma brought up for me (one of the beautiful sides of living in the same house as your grandparents…) My grandpa brought me a thermometer and my mom came over with some extra cough medicine. I actually started enjoying this care I used to get when I was little. Anyways I stayed in bed, behaved, watched chickflicks with happy endings and read.

Remember I was showing you that big plastic bag the other day? They are actually the pastry chef books I was telling you about previously and that I got from my dad for Christmas. They came in a ridiculously big bag, seemed like they delivered the tools I would need as well. Amazon.com delivered the books quite fast so this weekend I was reading introductions and getting familiar with them.

My guidebooks are (Are you as excited as I am? Just wait till the first batches from the books will take form…):

Larousse Gastronomique

The Pastry Chef Companion by Glenn and Laura Halpin Rinsky

and The Professional Pastry Chef by Bo Friberg – he seems like a cool guy. Books to read

None of them are strictly recipe books but rather they are guides for getting all the information about ingredients, tools and techniques. Of course the Larousse and Chef Bo offer recipes as well – I’m gonna make those for you to read and judge (and maybe even  taste if you are within reach).

At first glance, I love the ‘what went wrong’ sections where they tell you how and why you sc…messed up a cake or dough. I’ll probably be studying these sections a lot.  They have converting tables for metric and US measurements (Yaay for bilingual blogging made easier!), they give you food pairing ideas (Yaay for experimenting with odd and weird tastes!) and they teach a lot of new words – possibly most of them are French (Yaay for learning languages and improving vocabulary!)

It looks like I’ll be making a lot of breads in the next couple of months since understanding and making the right dough seem to be the basis for everything. But don’t worry I’ll sneak in some other stuff too every once in a while.

Bread, anyone?

Leave a Reply

