And That’s How I’ve Become a Blogger…/ Így lett belőlem blogger…

Blueberry jam and muffin

Dear Reader,

You should be wondering why on Earth would I start a foodblog if there are so many out there already who are more talented, professionnally better trained and/or have inspiring writing skills with a mindblowing a style. Yeah, good question!

Since I ask myself  the same question, I thought I would make a list (See, I told you I am a notorious note-taker and list-maker…) So, let’s see:

First of all, I spend much more time in the kitchen than the catering of my daily nutrition intake requires. That is probably because my Mom and my two grandmas soon taught me secrets of the most delicious cakes in the world and now I think of the KITCHEN as a secret lab where wonderful creations are born. These become tasty potions for happiness,  cure for sadness or heartache or soothing soulfood after a hard day.

I practiced for years under the supervision of these superchefs and finally I could actually make edible stuff. I read other foodblogs for ideas and new recipes and for exploring tastes I ate – a LOT. So when I found myself in my first kitchen, I skyrocketed. I would find any occasion to bake or rather make anything into an occasion to bake. In the summer I would find myself making so much jam, that my shelves in the kitchen started to bend under the little jars.

Then things started to fall into place.

My grandparents got me the Larousse Gastronomique for my birthday (Did you know that there are fifteen types of oranges?! Or that broccoli is a type of cabbage?…), my brother has been bugging me to go to a cooking school and my friend sent me a link of a pastry chef course.

It is not Cordon Bleu or CIA (not to confuse with the other CIA) but gives a decent basis to what I want to expand with all the knowledge that is available through books, personal conversations and blogging interaction.

The plan is as follows:

I will soon possess the books called The Professional Pastry Chef: Fundamentals of Baking and Pastry by Bo Friberg and also The Pastry Chef’s Companion: A Comprehensive Resource Guide for the Baking And Pastry Professional by Glenn and Laura Halpin Rinsky. Besides the school syllabus, I attempt going over the books’ recipes and techniques over the next year or two and blog my way through the process.

Yeah, it sure looks like I am a wannabe Julie Powell and you might be suspecting plagiarism, but this is going to be my story about my experiments, my late-night baking,  my failed souflés and maybe my happy ending…

Stay tuned.

Blueberry jam and muffin

Így lett belőlem blogger…

Kedves Olvasó,

Biztos eltűnődtél már, hogy mi a szentmálnabokornak kezdek bele egy újabb gasztroblogba, amikor már így is Dunát lehet velük rekeszteni, és vannak nálam sokkal tehetségesebb, szakmailag képzettebb és/vagy  lebilincselőbb stílussal és íráskészséggel megáldott szerzők. Ja, jó kérdés!

Én is folyton ezt kérdezem magamtól. Csak hogy igazoljam saját magam a lista- és jegyzetírási mániámmal kapcsolatban, íme egy újabb lista válasz gyanánt:

Először is, azt gondolom, hogy jóval több időt töltök a konyhában, mint amit azt a napi tápanyagbevitelem biztosítása igényelné. Ez minden bizonnyal arra vezethető vissza, hogy Anyukám és két drága nagymamám már jó korán megtanították nekem a legfinomabb csodáik titkait és mostanra úgy gondolok a KONYHÁRA, mint valami titkos laboratórium, ahol varázslatos dolgok születnek boldogság szérumok, gondűző és szerelmi báji…étel vagy csak egyszerű léleknyugtató harapnivaló formájában.

Hosszú évekig kitartóan gyakoroltam a három kedvenc cukrászom felügyelete alatt és végül is csak kisült valami ehető ezalatt. Sokat kalandoztam gasztroblogokon, lelkes Chili&Vanília rajongó lettem és persze jókat ettem, jó sokat! Így aztán amikor bevetettem magam életem első saját konyhájába, megtáltosodtam. Minden alkalmat megragadtam a sütésre, vagy sokkal inkább mindenből alkalmat generáltam a sütésre. Nyáron azon vettem észre magam, hogy az elkészült lekvárok alatt már erősen roskadozik a polc.

Aztán egyszer csak minden a helyére került.

Nagyszüleimtől megkaptam szülinapomra a hőn áhított Larousse gasztrónomiai lexikont (Tudtátok, hogy 15 fajta narancs van?! Vagy hogy a brokkoli egy káposztaféle?!…), az Öcsém bogarat ültetett a fülembe, hogy menjek intézményes keretek közt sütni tanulni, és egy barátnőm meg egyszercsak cukrásztanfolyam linket küldött nekem emailben.

Jó, persze ez nem a Cordon Bleu vagy a  CIA (nem összekeverendő az ügynökségi szí-áj-éjjal), de azért mégis csak ad egy biztos tudásalapot, amit aztán tovább bővíthetek könyvek, beszélgetések és interaktív bloggolás (igen, ehhez kellesz Te, Kedves Olvasó) segítségével.

Szóval a terv a következő:

Már megrendeltem és ha minden igaz, hamarosan megérkezik a Bo Friberg által jegyzett The Professional Pastry Chef: Fundamentals of Baking and Pastry és a Glenn és Laura Halpin Rinsky által írt The Pastry Chef’s Companion: A Comprehensive Resource Guide for the Baking And Pastry Professional könyvek. Ez két nagyon ígéretes olvasmánynak és kézikönyvnek bizonyuló darab, így majd az iskola mellett ezeket követve kísérletezem majd a receptekkel és a technikákkal, hogy az eredményeket megosszam majd a blogon is az elkövetkező egy-két évben.

Nem csodálom, ha már neked is eszedbe jutott, hogy Julie Powell babérjaira török és máris plagizálok, de valójában ez az én sztorim lesz az én kísérletezgetéseimmel, az én éjszakai sütéseimmel, összeesett felfújtjaimmal és talán az én happy end-emmel…

Tarts velem Te is!

Comments
8 Responses to “And That’s How I’ve Become a Blogger…/ Így lett belőlem blogger…”
  1. robtmc says:

    …és 22 féla alma🙂 Itt az angol Larousse van, de nagyon kiváncsi vagyok a magyarra.Majd Réka ma jól megnézi🙂

  2. Linc says:

    Congratulations! Your site looks great!

  3. Patti Clark says:

    Congratulations sweet girl! Your site is wonderful and I can’t wait to follow your adventure! I may even be inspired to cook along with you! I wish we had taken more time to cook together while you were with me. It would have been lots of fun. I can not put into words how proud I am of you. Keep up the good work and I can’t wait to hear from you again!

  4. Ildiko Rokusfalvy says:

    Nagyon izgalmasnak tűnik ..:-) már alig várom, hogy megtanítsál csodálatos sütiket sütni, pl. a karácsonyi beiglid isteni volt!!!

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] I was showing you that big plastic bag the other day? They are actually the pastry chef books I was telling you about previously and that I got from my dad for Christmas. They came in a ridiculously big bag, seemed like they […]

  2. […] hogy legutóbb mutattam nektek egy óriási zsákot? No, abban volt az a két könyv, amiről már korábban is meséltem nektek, és amit Aputól kaptam karácsonyra. Nevetségesen nagy zsákban hozták ki, mintha már a […]



Leave a Reply

