Green Reform or Weird Dessert for Shrek

Avocado cake4

It all started with me going to the grocery store one summer morning (yeah, it was like three months ago) and buying more avocados than I could think of using…then I just didn’t use all of them and got stuck with the ingredient.

what to do?

And of course then I started wondering if I could use the leftover for a cake. If there is cake with beetroot, there gotta be one with avocado. And there it was! My fried, Google showed me exactly what I wanted.  So I made it, and even though it turned out I would have needed more avocados for the real thing, it sure had a hit at the office  and at my grandparents’. One of my colleagues even did a little survey and figured that avocado is a fruit despite my theory it being a vegetable.

A month later we had a family birthday party – the kind when you celebrate five birthdays at a time and I took a chance and made the cake again. My cousins and aunts looked really suspicious, not to mention the male relatives not even looking at the green monster. They were asking if it was sweet or even edible at all. After a kind but fierce encouragement they dag in and took encores… I guess they liked it.

I thought the cake turned out pretty well, and since the second time I had more avocados, it turned out proper green. ( Well, this is the time of which I don’t have many pics of because of still lacking proper computer back-up…more on this later.) I was pretty pleased to see how avocados replace the fat in a cake and how it all turned out vegan as well – not that this was the purpose in our case.

So, if you are adventurous enough here is a cake to try from Joy, the Baker. 

avocado cake ingredients

Ingredients:

3 cups all-purpose flour

6 Tablespoons unsweetened cocoa powder

1/2 teaspoon salt

2 teaspoons baking powder

2 teaspoons baking soda

2 cups granulated sugar

1/4 cup vegetable oil

1/2 cup soft avocado, well mashed, about 1 medium avocado

2 cups water

2 Tablespoons white vinegar

2 teaspoons vanilla extract

I preheated the oven  to 350 degrees F (~180°C) and greased my round pan. I mixed together all of the dry ingredients except the sugar as the recipe says, then went on mixing the  wet ingredients together in a bowl, including the super mashed avocado as well. (This is where I wasn’t very precise the first time with not enough avocados, but to my surprise it worked perfectly even then.)

I added  sugar into the wet mix and stirred, added the dry ingredients and mixed it again. I beat with a whisk until smooth, then poured batter into the greased cake tin.  Baked it for 35 minutes (can go up to 40 depending on your oven)

I let the cake cool in pan for 15 minutes, then turned out onto a cooling rack to cool completely before frosting with avocado buttercream.

Avocado Buttercream Frosting from Alton Brown

8 ounces of avocado meat, about 2 small to medium, very ripe avocados

2 teaspoons lemon juice

1 pound powdered sugar, sifted

1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract

Green Avocado Cream

Get the ripest avocados you can – I used the ones I had (not too ripe the first time, but learned the lesson and went for the good ones the second time.) Peeled them, cut them in dices and placed the avocado meat into a food processor. Then I put the mash in a blender and added the lemon juice, vanilla extract and the powdered sugar. It was bright green and tasted very fresh.

After filling and topping the cake with the paste I couldn’t decide whether it was a nice nouveau vague cake or something Fiona would have made for Shrek for his birthday.

piece of cake

Either way, it is quite an experience and a great alternative if you want something different.

Comments
4 Responses to “Green Reform or Weird Dessert for Shrek”
  1. elly yuana says:

    Love it Annabake !! Avocado is healthy and this is a brilliant idea to decorate a cake. Kids will love it.

  2. This looks so interesting! I’ve heard of baking with avocado and pairing it with chocolate but never have. It looks delicious though, I’ll have to give it a try!

  3. Matis Ági says:

    I was one to taste it on the big birthday party, and I can prove that it was delicious!

  4. annabeebakes says:

    It tastes delicious and I thought it was fun ro serve green cake. First it looks bizarre but then it kind of fits the modern trends of using color green. / Thanks Agi! Glad you liked it to :-)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 255 other followers

