What about a chocolaty late night snack?

I’m pretty sure I am not the only one randomly having late night cravings for something sweet and crispy and chocolaty to munch on…Or am I? No way! I have a strong feeling that at least some of you have that every once in a while. Or at least have had it once in life. Right? I might be just easing the guilty itch of these moments with making y’all my accomplice.

Anyways, chocolate chip cookies are great rescuers in these times and there are countless occasions when they are the best: picnic snack in the summer by the river, get-better or I-wish-you-luck treats for friends, I-love-you-Grandpa package on random days, take-away-after-lunch dessert and many more…

I have been owing you my chocolate chip cookie recipe (which I also got from Kristy from Eureka) for two weeks now and some might even say that this period stretches to months, so here it goes:

2 sticks of unsalted butter at room temperature - maybe even a bit melted (most times I use margarine instead just because it is more convenient but I can imagine it is even better with butter)

1 cup granulated sugar

1 cup light brown sugar

2 teaspoon vanilla extract

2 extra large eggs

3 cups all-purpose flour

1 teaspoon salt

1 teaspoon baking soda

24 oz this seems awfully lot but this is what my recipe says, anyways, I think I’ll go with a LOT of semi-sweet chocolate chip and leave it up to everyone’s taste…

2 cups coarsely chopped toasted pecans - I use walnuts, simply because pecans around here are scarce and come with the price of a Tiffany ring

Preheat oven to 325°F (160°C). In a large bowl, beat together the butter, the granulated sugar and the light brown sugar with an electric mixer until light and creamy.

Beat in the vanilla and the eggs until smooth.

In a medium bowl, combine the flour, baking soda and salt. Gradually beat the flour mixture into the butter.

Choco Chip Cookie batter

Mix in the chocolate chips and the pecans.

Using a small ice cream scoop or a tablespoon drop the batter onto greased baking sheet (or lined with baking paper) allowing 3 inches in between each one for spreading. Bake for about 10-15 minutes or until light golden brown.

Chocolate Chip Cookie scoops

Let cool on the baking sheet before removing to a rack.

Here! They are ready in about 30 minutes.

And you know what the best part is? That you can freeze portions of the batter in plastic cups. Whenever you have the cravings – just like I do – you can just grab them from the freezer and bake them in ten minutes.

Freezing chocolate chip cookie

Or, if you can’t wait any longer, just eat it out from the plastic cup as cookie dough ice cream…

School has officially started! Yaaay! Posts on classes, impressions, baking routine and pastry chef fashion might be coming up soon…stay tuned! Or stay hungry…

Chocolate Chip Cookies

Comments
6 Responses to “What about a chocolaty late night snack?”
  1. Patti Clark says:

    Sounds yummy. Love hot chocolate chip cookies. Wonder if I could make without nuts. Have you tried without nuts? I can’t wait to try it!

  2. annabeebakes says:

    It is yummy :-) and I think you can put anything in the basic batter, anything you like, or take anything. I’m sure they are just as good without the nuts and with lot sof chocolate…

  3. Ildi Hajniss says:

    I always make them without nuts and they are delicious. My housemates love them. My recipe calls for 200 g (7 oz) of chocolate chips, same amount of butter, but slightly less flour and sugar. I normally use 100 g of mini chocolate chips, so I’s imagine that 7-10 oz would be pretty much enough for this amount of dough. I’ll just have to try your recipe as well to compare :) Or we can have a bake-off in April, I’m guessing our Rotaract friends would be pleased about that :)

    • annabeebakes says:

      I’m in for the bake-off. Let’s see how many we can get involved?

      • Ildi Hajniss says:

        Then we can have a bake-sale as well for charity :) Unless we eat all the cookies. Also, I’ve wanted to try to make double chocolate chip cookies with white chocolate chips and chocolaty dough, yummy.

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. [...] (which is pretty possible as far as meteorologists are concerned). Anyways, I decided to make some chocolate chip cookies in case we are going, because they are good to munch on while playing pétanque or croquet or [...]



Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 255 other followers

